Many people think that Cava can be produced anywhere in Spain, but that is not quite true. Even though the area is not centred to one single geographical area, it is controlled and regulated by Consejo Regulador del Cava.

The areas that make up the DO Cava (denominación de origen), comprises of a total of 159 municipalities, all located within ten provinces; Barcelona, Tarragona, Lleida, Girona, La Rioja, Álava, Zaragoza, Navarra, Valencia and Badajoz. Although the DO is quite large, 95 percent of all Cava is produced within Catalonia, mainly in Penedès to be precise. The centre of Penedès and the Cava production has for a long time been the city of Sant Sadurní d’Anoia, located about 40 kilometres south west of Barcelona.Karta med cavaregioner spanien idc